Pumpkin Spice Muffin II

by mannafrost

So my mom asked me to make something out of the green pumpkin that had been sitting on the kitchen counter for a while now. Initially, I thought it was a type of asian squash but she kept calling it a ‘Pumpkin’. Laughing, I went on Google and identified the ‘Kabocha’ – A Japanese Winter Squash. Online, people have mentioned it wasn’t the greatest substitute for the Sugar pumpkin (a smaller sized pumpkin used for baking) but Wikipedia describes Kabocha as: ‘…similar in texture and flavor to a pumpkin and a sweet potato combined’. Sweet potato will do!

I went online to search for a Pumpkin Spice Recipe and found this one >All Recipes Pumpkin Spice Muffins II, intrigued by the ‘II’ and happy about the 4.5/5 stars  So, instead of a Sugar Pumpkin I used a Kabocha Squash. Here are directions on how to Puree a Pumpkin. Our Magic Bullet struggled to process the heavy pulp, so I ended up adding water to the puree. Considering the end result, the Kabocha was a great substitute – it was sweeter than the canned pumpkin Puree bought for the next batch. The Muffins turned out great!

Side note: The next batch required 8 cups of puree so I ended up combining leftover Kabocha and Pumpkin Puree from a can. The story behind this gigantic batter was that I accidently tossed in 3 times more baking soda – so I tripled everything. That meant 12 cups of flour! The batter was so heavy I used my hands to mix the ingredients. I’ll see how it tastes when I bake some tomorrow.

The best part of baking the Pumpkin Spice is the aroma. The smell of Nutmeg, Clove and Cinnamon is so nice~ It reminds me of Potpourri.

